beetroot chutney

beetroot chutney

beetroot chutney

What gorgeous colour!!!!

This wasn’t entirely food for free. So slightly against my new found religion.

The apples are the foraged crab apples and the beetroot was a gift but the rest I had to buy.  Still not bad.

I have about a dozen jars of pickled beetroot in the outside fridge and was determined not to make more of the same.

I like pickled beetroot enormously and the smell of it cooking reminds me of my gran’s kitchen.

She was a great one for chutney, especially tomato, and I have never got my hands on her recipe.

I can’t recall her making beetroot chutney but thanks again, to the Allotment web site, here is the recipe….

Apparently the colours are so red because of using white vinegar and white sugar instead of any other as it enhances the lovely beetroot colour.

Ingredients

3 lb (1.8kg) beetroot

1 large onion

1 large cooking apple

1 teaspoon salt

2 teaspoons ginger

12 oz white sugar

1 pint (570 ml) white vinegar

level tspn salt

Method:

Wash the beetroot carefully without rubbing the skin and cook gently in a large pan covering the beetroot with water. Cook until tender.

Allow to cool and rub off skin. Dice to sized cubes preferred (I would suggest quite small).

Peel and chop the onion & apple. Put all the ingredients into a large heavy based pan.

Bring to the boil very slowly then simmer gently until cooked and thickened.

Pour into hot clean, sterilized jars. Seal immediately.

This recipe yields about 5lb (2.3kg of Beetroot Chutney).

jam jar covers

jam jar covers

The jars that I used for the jams and jellies aren’t quite as pretty as those I used for the chutney.  In fact,

they are quite a motley crew.

So I got to thinking about some samples of fabrics that I have kept for far too long and never really had a use

for.

Perfect!

I now have a huge array of pretty jam jar tops!!

more jam jar covers

more jam jar covers


Leave a Reply

