food and cooking

pretty apron

pretty apron

My niece would like become a chef or work with food in some way.   She’s very good and always wants to help when it comes to cooking or baking.  She even cooks once a week for her hard working mummy.  She’s only 10.

These interests definitely need to be encouraged though I think that the food industry is very, very hard work.  She’s a pretty bright little thing, she also draws very well, loves making things and is very musical.   One of the things that she should combine with her cooking is writing.  She writes wonderful essays for her age. It could make for a great combination.

The difficult decisions about school are being made at the moment and she isn’t enjoying it much.  She is likely to go somewhere different to a lot of her friends and isn’t keen on the change.

It’s getting her down a bit so I decided to make her something to cheer her up and encourage her a little.

flower detail

flower detail

She has things at our house for when she comes to stay like her own towel, a toothbrush; the usual. She also has her own apron as we have been known to make biscuits or cakes when she’s here and she loves helping with supper.

apron with cloth

apron with cloth

I expect she also has a cooking apron at home but I have made her a new one, along with a matching oven glove and her own tea towel cloth.

back of oven glove with contrasting mit

back of oven glove with contrasting mit

front of oven glove to match apron

front of oven glove to match apron

I don’t know about you, but when I cook, I like to be able to wash and wipe my hands quite a bit (pretty obsessively to be honest) and shoving a tea towel into your jeans pocket or apron pocket are always unsatisfactory.

Hoping that even small chefs have these same issues with aprons, I have added a dedicated loop next to the patch pocket.  And because she is a girl and all things must be embelished to the maximum if they aren’t the pinkest thing in the world that was ever created, I’ve added a small corsage!!

I really like it and I made a second one which tinyinc is selling on folksy.

In the meantime, her mum has expressed an interest in having a matching tinyinc apron so I will do her one too and another to sell (I think I have just added another project to my collection of projects needing to be finished!).  I will have to explore a boy and grown up version too.

tinyinc's tag

tinyinc's tag

2 thoughts on “food and cooking

Leave a Reply

