tinyinc’s hand made stuff on folksy

bunny

bunny

On the strength of Annie’s delight in Max’s blanket, advice from my ‘dragon’ and the encouragement of my wonderful friends, I have stuck my neck out and advertised for commissions on Folksy for my baby blankets and baby cushions (oh how I wish I had photographed more of the stuff I have made!!!).  I’m going to add the bags kiddy clothes and kiddy aprons that I am working on too and someone very sensibly suggested pet apparel!!!

apple tree

apple tree

 

It’s really difficult to know how to pitch these things but if I am to do more than dip my toe into making a living from sewing, I have to do this!! What you are able to charge for a commission like a hand appliqued baby blanket doesn’t reflect, in any way whatsoever, the amount of time that it takes to produce these things.  But if you priced it based on ‘time sheets’, you’d get absolutely no interest!

bonnet

bonnet

Because I love doing these applique blocks so much and there has to be a sense of satisfaction or pleasure in what you do it overcomes the issue of cost when they are gifts or commissions for friends.  There’ll be trial and error on the pricing, I’ve no doubt but I’ve decided to post my blankets on folksy to see what interest or commissions it generates.  So far, there’s lots of interest and it is the cushion that used to be an arran sweater that is getting most interest.

windy mill

windy mill

light house

light house

BUT, it gets a bit scarier as you get older (and you hopefully get a bit more sensible).  I have huge amounts of support and encouragement, I have people around me who believe I can do this.  Isn’t that just wonderful.

beach huts

beach huts

It has been raining for the last few days but I can still feel the sun…….

sunshine!!

sunshine!!

balloons

balloons

kite tailkite tail
cherries

cherries

beach buggy

beach buggy

happy hippo

happy hippo

5 thoughts on “tinyinc’s hand made stuff on folksy

  1. Hiya
    Thanks for popping over to my blog Your comments are very much appreciated.
    The bunny was knitted with a pattern although I did change it a bit here and there.
    I bought the pattern from a lovely lady on etsy called susan. Her etsy shop is called maryjanestearoom and she has a range of different cute bunnys to knit. I believe you can also find her on ravelry.

    Hope this helps
    karen

Leave a Reply

