crab apple jelly

crab apples

crab apples

I had quite a few crab apples left over from my hedgerow jelly and having stored them in the dark and in newspaper, they have kept well, so on saturday I got around to making the apple jelly I wanted to use them for.

The recipe comes from the allotment.org web site again (see link to the right)

Ingredients

4lbs (1.8kg) of crab apples or cooking apples

2 pint (1200ml) water

stick of cinnamon or a few cloves (or strips of lemon rind

1lb (450g) of sugar per pint of juice obtained

Method

Wash the apples and wipe. Cut into quarters but do not remove the skin or core. Put the fruit into a pan with the water and the cinnamon, cloves or lemon peel tied into a piece of muslin. Stew until the fruit is pulpy. Test for pectin.  Remove the flavouring ingredients.  Turn into jelly bag and leave to strain overnight.  Measure the juice and heat in a pan.  Add 1lb (450g) warmed sugar to each pint of juice, stirring until all the sugar has dissolved.  Bring to the boil and boil rapidly until the jelly sets when tested.  Remove the scum.  Pour into sterilised jars and seal while still. hot.

 

 

straining overnight

straining overnight

Since my first success at making jam with Damsons in September (see ‘food for free’ on the 18.09.09) and my hedgerow jelly (see ‘even more food for free’ 21.09.09), I have invested in a shiny new jam pan, a jelly bag for straining the lumps and on friday my jam funnel arrived from a shop on ebay so I feel like I have enough proper stuff to take it a bit more seriously.

straining into my super stainless bowl

straining into my super stainless bowl

I don’t take it too seriously, it is too much fun for that but it is very satisfying to produce something.  Being back in my full time job for the last 2 weeks after a glorious month off has been veeeerrrrry tough.  I have put in long hours and I was delighted it was the weekend and I could do a bit of what I fancy.

So on saturday it was crab apple jelly.  I cooked all the apples and then set them to strain overnight using my new straining net which I hang off the wall cupboard handles.  The bowl that they were strained into is worth a mention: my mum bought it for me and it is brilliant, it is round bottomed and has a rubber footed stand.  The idea being that as a mixing bowl it doesn’t need to stand and when it does, it can be at any angle you like.

bubbling away

bubbling away

On sunday morning, I added the required sugar, put my jars in the oven to sterilize and set about turning the pinkish milky juices from the apples into a clear, sweet jelly that is the most fabulous shade of orange.

jelly jars

jelly jars

I had been cutting out some fabric on saturday for a batch of new aprons that I need to make for folksy and a shop I am seeing about selling my stuff and had some off cuts that fit the lids perfectly.

Voila!!!  Tinyinc’s Crab Apple Jelly.

2 tinyinc jars of jelly

2 tinyinc jars of jelly

Leave a Reply

