tinyinc’s hand made applique blanket for henry

frog prince

frog prince

lovely friends of ours had their second little man arrive to join their family a few months ago and we went to see them recently.  He is a delightful smiley little chap and seems to take everything in his stride.

apple tree

apple tree

a lot of our friends have things that I have made (and apologies to those who don’t) when their tots arrive and Henry is no different.

 

hare

hare

I had crochetted his big brother, William (tiger!!) a white lace swaddling shawl and even though it wasn’t certain that Henry would be Henry and not Henrietta, it seemed appropriate to make something different this time.

bonnet

bonnet

I love the designing and sketching process for the images on the blanket blocks.  It involves researching imagery if it isn’t already there in my head.  But mostly it is about sketching and finding the right pieces of fabric to make it into the picture you chose. It’s very exciting.

guppy

guppy

most of my blankets have a theme but for henry’s I just wanted bright happy pictures that you could imagine him pointing to when he is having a story or learning his words.

bumble bee

bumble bee

it is lovely to watch each sketch slowly turn into a pretty, colourful image to sit with all the other pretty, colourful images.

kite ribbons

kite ribbons

this blanket was going to have 12 image blocks which makes it the right size for a cot but I got carried away and it actually has 20 making it large enough to completely cover a single bed and cover a double bed enough to keep it snuggly and looking nice.

balloons

balloons

I made even more than the 20 image blocks once I’d finished so I had plenty to play with when I put the blanket together. I am keeping the spares for my kiddies cushions

sunny showers

sunny showers

I am still able to use my target of about 95% vintage fabrics although some of them are not strictly vintage and are nice samples or pieces that I have found a new life for.

big blanket

big blanket

I think henry likes his blanket, I know his mummy does so I’m very happy with it too.

henry's blanket

henry's blanket

One thought on “tinyinc’s hand made applique blanket for henry

Leave a Reply

