canine couture of the knitted variety

My sister happened to be in leeds last summer and in one of the covered markets, came upon a fellow maker who had a stall full of doggy fashion and accessories.

Endlessly supportive and alert to my budding venture, she couldn’t resist asking the lady maker for a copy of the pattern for her doggy coat.

Slightly surprised to be asked to pay for it (!!), she parted with 75p and excitedly handed it over to me at the end of her fun weekend.

As I said a few days ago, I have been busy at work and my lovely mum has been busy doing a bit of knitting for me.

Amongst the knitted delights that I took delivery of, was the very dog coat knitted up in a lovely minky coloured wool.

The furry one is not known to like a coat of any kind but will just about oblige when it comes to modelling.

Update 23.04.14

Since this post, I have had a few requests for a copy of this pattern so here we go:-

Size

3 sizes to suit 25cm, (32cm & 36cm). This is the length measured from the back of the neck to the base of the tail

Materials

1 (1, 2) x 100gm balls of DK yarn

1 pair 3.25mm & 4mm knitting needles, stitch holder

6 small buttons (approximately 1.5cm)

Tension

11 sts and 18 rows to 5cm worked over pattern on size 4mm needles

Pattern

BACK

Beginning at tail end with 3.25mm needles, cast on 39 (49, 59) sts

1st Row: incr in first st, K to last 2 sts, incr in next st, K1

2nd Row: K

Repeat last 2 rows twice 45 (55, 65) sts

To start pattern and shape sides: Change to 4mm needles

1st Row: K4, make 1, K to last 4 sts, make 1, K4

2nd Row: K4, P to last 4 sts, K4

3d Row: K

4th Row: K4, make 1, P to last 4 sts, make 1, K4

5th Row: K4, *P1 leaving yarn at front of work, sl 1 purl wise, rep from * to last 5 sts, P1, K4

6th Row: K4, P1, K1, P1, rep from *to last 4 sts, K4

Repeat last 6 rows once 53 (63, 73) sts

Continue straight as follows:-

Row 1: K

Row 2: K4, P to last 4 sts, K4

Row 3 & 4: Repeat last 2 rows

Row 5: K4, *P1, leaving yarn at front of work, sl 1 purl wise, rep from * to last 5 sts, P1, K4

Row 6: K4, P1 *K1, P1, rep from * to last 4 sts, K4

Repeat last 6 row pattern until work measures 25 (32, 36)cm, (or length required, ending on 2nd or 4th row of pattern)

Leave sts on holder

UNDERSIDE

with 4mm needles cast on 23 (29, 39) sts and K 2 rows

Next (increase) row: K1 (2, 2), * make 1, K4 (5, 7), rep from * to last 2 sts, make 1, K2

You should have 29 (35, 45) sts on your needle

Next Row: K

Next (buttonhole) Row: K1, K2 tog, y fwd, K to last 3 sts, y fwd, K2 tog, K1

Next Row: K

**

Work straight in 6 row pattern as for back, making 2 more sets of buttonholes on each following 12th (14th, 16th) row from the last, finishing with right side facing for next row.

TO SHAPE UDER FRONT LEGS

Next Row: K9 (9, 11), pattern to last 9 (9, 11) sts, K to end

Next Row: Cast off 5 (5, 7) st, K3, pattern to last 4 sts, K4

You should have 19 (25, 31) sts left on your needle

Continue straight, keeping the first and last sts K in every row until work measures 16 (20, 22) cm from the beginning finishing on wrong side row.

TO JOIN UNDERSIDE AND BACK AT NECK

Next Row: *K5, K2 tog, rep from * to last 5 (4, 3) sts, K to end, then with right side facing and in the same row, K across sts from back thus: *K1, K2 tog, rep from * to last 2 (3,1) sts, K to end

You should have 53 (65, 76) stat on your needle

COLLAR

Change to size 3.25mm needles and work in single rib for 8 (10, 10) cm down from the base of the collar. This will give you the position of the top set of buttons.

TO MAKE UP

Join collar using flat seam

Sew the first set of buttons at the markers, try the coat on your dog to check fit then position and sew on the rest of the buttons

Done!!!

 

26 thoughts on “canine couture of the knitted variety

  1. I live in British Columbia, Canada .I saw your dog coat on Pinterest, “canine couture of the knitted variety. I have a Jack Russell that looks exactly like the ‘model’ Is there anyway that I can obtain a pattern as I just love that one. Looks like a perfect fit.

    Thank you,
    Barb

    • Hi Barb

      It’s great isn’t it?

      I will see if I can dig out the pattern as I haven’t used it for a long time.

      The model is our gorgeous JRT Max!!

      • Thank you so much. I realize it is probably in your archives by now as it seems to be from 2010.

      • I haven’t found it yet (it is an actual paper print out pattern – old style) but I haven’t stopped trying. Bear with me and I will get back to you 🙂

      • Thank you once again for searching for this pattern. I truly appreciate it! I have patience so I can wait. You must be one busy lady and your work is amazing.

      • Aww thank you. it’s nice to have compliments about what you make.
        I do feel a bit like I never stop and soooooo wish I could dedicate my time to sewing and making all the time 😦

  2. I guess it is a no go for the pattern. It is really hard to find a good pattern as every one seems generic where this one is perfect for the Jack Russell. I do thank you for looking though especially when you are so busy. Barb

  3. Thank you ever so much once again. Have a few things to finish up first. Have full intentions of letting you see the end result. Certainly no need to apologize! Have a great day. Barb

  4. I have done the back of the coat in the large size 36 cm. I started the underside and have done the three button holes on each side and the cast off and have the 31 stitches left on the needle. I started working straight until the work measured 22 cm and that does not seem to be long enough to join with the back. Is there a row or two missing or am I doing something wrong.? I am thinking the underside should be as long as the back. Thanks, Barb

    • Hi Barb

      My recollection is that the front is not as long as the back. There is a space at the top where the legs go (between the polo neck and the top button.

      I will try to find another photo that shows the front as well as the back and I will add it to the post.
      Unfortunately

      I don’t have the coat any longer so can’t show you that.

  5. Thank you. No problem. I just wanted to make sure before I carried on with it. I have a knitted coat that I bought previously and the underside is much shorter which makes sense if you have a male dog. It is on the same idea of the style of your pattern. I might play around with it for a bit and will definitely send you a picture when I have finished. Thanks again. Barb

    • Ooh yes, please. I would love to see your creation. I’d also be interested in the adaptions you make to the pattern for next time I use it 🙂

      • I will definitely send you a picture and any changes I make if I do so. Have to get out in the garden and weed but I would rather be knitting!

  6. Hi I really would lije that dog coat for a patterdale terrier of my dads however I cant knit . Would you be able to knit one and ill pay you for doing so?
    Kind regards
    Jane

  7. For some reason I am unable to print the canine couture pattern from your website. I would very much like to have it. Would it be possible for you to scan it and then email it to me? Many thanks!

  8. Thank you! It worked! How much does your terrier model weigh? I have a Cavalier King Charles who weighs about 20 lbs. and a mixed breed who weighs about 28 lbs. The King Charles is a bit big (tall and long) for his breed and a little hard to fit. I may use this pattern for both dogs. Many thanks again for sharing it.

    • Hi Dot

      Glad you got on with it OK.

      Max (the reluctant terrier) is about 11kg so that is about 24lbs so the size I used for Max should fit your CKC and the next size up should suit your mixed breed.

      Good Luck

      C

Leave a Reply

