Thrifty Finds and Vintage Stuff

grain toy sewing machine

Because of my recent obsession with my newly gifted vintage sewing machine, you can imagine my delight, when, at our local car boot sale on Friday I came across this little beauty.

As a miniature or toy sewing machine, it was quite common in it’s time and there are some interesting facts about grain to be found on Alex Askeroff’s  web site.

grain sewing machine and box

Of all commercially produced toy sewing machines, it was also one of the most successful, but looking at the one I have (actually spotted and bought for me by my wonderful hubby), I don’t think it has been used very much at all.  The box is a bit battered but quite charming and still doing well for a pressed cardboard box and it has done it’s job by protecting it’s miniature cargo very well.

All things considered, it’s a great find & I think JC was happy to part with his £7 for it.

In the meantime, the vintage sewing machine I blogged about last time is in the very capable hands of the sewing centre in muswell hill and my fingers are crossed for it’s speedy recovery.

3 thoughts on “Thrifty Finds and Vintage Stuff

  1. Oh my goodness – that brings back memories! I remember there being one of those little machines in the house when I was a little girl! I’ve no idea where it came from or what happened to it – it’s possibly still in my mother’s attic.

    I think you’ve had a real bargain at £7 – it’s in lovely condition.

Leave a Reply

