plum and apple chutney

roughly chopped plums

Last year was my first and timid venture into the world of jam making. I had been inspired to try it when I discovered a Damson tree on the farm laden with ripened fruit.  My attempts at Damson Jam and then Hedgerow Jelly weren’t a complete disaster so it filled me with enthusiasm and I have since invested in a maslin pan, some other jam making bits of kit and have been saving jam jars like a mad person.

I recently tried marrow and ginger jam and bramble and apple jam, thoroughly enjoying the process.  It appeals to my general approach to cooking which should involve only one pot where ever possible!

I also tried beetroot chutney last year but have not ventured into the world of chutney much since. I can’t think of anything tastier though than a nice pickle with a lump of tasty mature cheese so chutneys and pickles are something I want to perfect.

Last week I made my own version of Plum & Apple Chutney using plums we collected at the weekend and limited myself to the various contents of our cupboards and fridge!!  I had, however, checked out a few recipes and was confident I had the makings of a pretty tasty chutney.

Ingredients

1.4kg apples (I used Bramley)

1.4kg of stoned plums (I used Victoria Plums)

350g of muscavado sugar (I used a mostly brown)

200g of sultanas

75g of peeled and finely chopped root ginger

2 tsp of cider vinegar

2 onions chopped (red is better)

1 tsp of ground black pepper

8 cloves

tsp of nutmeg

some ingredients in maslin pan

Method

Roughly chop fruit (leaving skins on but taking stones out of plums and cores out of apples), finely chop ginger, chop onions.

Put all ingredients into a pan and stir well.

all ingredients mixed in pan ready for cooking

Gently bring ingredients up to boiling, stirring all the time to stop it sticking to the bottom of the pan.

Turn down to simmer for about 1.5 hours uncovered and until it starts to thicken.  Stir occassionallly.

Bring to boil again for about 10 minutes or until you can see the bottom of the pan (even for a split second) when you drag the spoon/ladle across the bottom.

If you can find them, remove the cloves.

Transfer to sterilized jars (I sterilize in the oven).

Allow to cool and label.

plum and apple chutney

It is really tasty and I’m incredibly pleased with my seven or so jars of Plum & Apple Chutney.

Leave a Reply

