Plum and Orange Jam

stoned plums

I already have 3 or so jam types in the cupboard that are made from different plum varieties so I wanted to vary the flavour slightly and having made honeydew melon marmalade that I love, I thought that orange might be an interesting addition.

It’s amazing what you can find when you ask a search engine for a jam recipe using plums and oranges!!!

stoned plums and stones in muslin

This recipe is based on the allotment growing recipes portfolio for plum recipes and is as follws:-

Ingredients

2 orange

2kg of plums (I used victoria plums)

juice of 2 lemons

1kg of jam sugar

One thing that I have learned very quickly from my limited jam making is that I don’t like using the equivalent in sugar to fruit weight.  It makes it too sweet for my tastes so I halve it.

basic ingredients

Method

Peel orange and set peel aside, chop up orange pulp removing pips and any pith that is too much.

Simmer for 10 minutes with peel in with pulp. Set aside.

Cook plums until soft and the lumps have broken down.

Add orange in and sugar.

Bring to the boil and boil hard until setting point is achieved.

Transfer to sterilized jars.  Cool and label.

plum stones in muslin

Also, I seem to recall from somewhere that the stones contain pectin and help with the flavour so I set them aside and put them in muslin to be boiled with the plums.  Removed before fast boil and setting point achieved.

plum and orange jam

It’s quite a tangy flavour and the equal amount of sugar to fruit would suit most people’s pallets but I enjoy the sharpness.

I love the amazing colour that these fruits achieve as they turn into a gloopy liquid.  Beautiful!

Leave a Reply

