Vintage Finds and Gifts

my gran leahy’s little leather needle case

I am a sucker for a Charity Shop and a Car Boot Sale as some of you will know and I am tainted with a bit of my mum’s hoarding instincts but this has been tempered by my paternal Grandmother’s regular need to ‘clear out’.

parts for a singer 15k (I don’t have one of those so I think I will have to buy one!!)

I think collecting is just a polite way of calling someone a hoarder so to that end, it would appear that the apple really doesn’t fall that far from the tree and I do have my mum’s instinct to hoard (a bit!).

hooks for clippy mats

In mum’s defence, she recently acquired a bracelet for £1.49 and sold it for £700 so she has a pretty good eye when she is out there collecting stuff. She also bought me a Beehive wool holder from the 60s. It is strapless but in relatively good order and considering these sell for about £20, a 50p purchase price isn’t bad.

a roll of petersham tape

I have a small collection of Fountain Pens and a couple sewing machines that could be considered to be a collection of sorts, I hate getting rid of books albeit that I have tried to wean myself and now have a kindle (that I love!), I have piles of vintage fabrics waiting to be turned into ‘something else’ and I love vintage sewing stuff so I am constantly on the look out.

Mum’s finds are invaluable and I know she loves it when she has managed to get her hands on something really good.

all the bits for darning

I’ve had some thrifty success like my threads in May and I love my new vintage sewing box!! I use the sewing box for my equipment, I have a Cath Kidston Project bag which I use to transport my work and I now store my current projects in a very sweet basket I found at the vintage market in Oxford.

pretty basket found in Oxford for £3

I don’t think I have my mum’s eye although I do have the hunger for a good deal but I do get excited about some of the old stuff that I have and love more than most of the new stuff.

threads needles and a darning mushroom from a friend of my mum’s

Some bits were my Gran’s, some were my mum’s that she no longer wanted or are some of her canny finds, some came to me from an old lady my mum knows and others I have found myself.

a sweet little dorcas pin tin that has seen a bit of work

When I get my work space sorted, I will have them in a vintage open sewing basket (yet to be found) either on my work table or they will be on shelves in other baskets, jars, tins and boxes where they can be seen and appreciated.

60s paton’s blue bakelite beehive wool holder (mum got this for 20p and they sell on ebay for about £6)

I can’t wait! In the meantime, the hunt continues.

8 thoughts on “Vintage Finds and Gifts

    • I love it even though the lid is a bit stiff. I managed to pick up another Dorcas pin tin but this one is deep and plastic (and broken) but worth the 50p just for the pins.

      • Aww, my mum has that pin tin, and I love it. I can remember looking through her sewing box and playing with the buttons when I was little. Lovely things you’ve found – I’m rubbish at that!

      • I love hearing my lovely follower’s reminiscing and stories. Especially about their mums and grans.

        I bet you aren’t rubbish at finding stuff…. It takes a bit of obsessive behaviour and a bit of practice (believe me I have wasted some £ on mistakes) to get better at it. Otherwise, just buy what you like. That’s more important.

  1. Do you mind if I quote a few of your posts as long
    as I provide credit and sources back to your weblog? My blog is in the exact same area of interest as yours and my visitors would truly benefit from some of the information you present here.
    Please let me know if this okay with you.
    Thanks!

    • Hi Carley

      Thanks for dropping by.

      I don’t mind links to my blog at all 🙂

      We all need a bit of traffic and it’s nice to think people get to see our makes.

      Good luck with your own blog. I will follow you to keep up to date if that’s OK.

      Cx

Leave a Reply

