a knitting (or crochet) bag

front pocket

front pocket

I have long been a fan of the pillow case for keeping sewing, knitting and crocheting clean. I also use them as general bags for sewing etc especially if I have to take them anywhere.

They serve a purpose but the are not perfect. Often too big for the content and not easy to carry.

needle and pattern pockets

needle and pattern pockets

So it got me thinking, why buy something and why ‘make do’ when I can make exactly what I want?

front of bag

front of bag

So here is a my new crochet bag for when I am working at my occasional stall at Harringay Market. It is made in the fabric to match the basket cover I made and am using to carry my cash tin, pins, pegs, bunjies, note book etc etc to the market.

back pockets

back pockets

It will be getting some use when we are there again on the 3rd of February.

pockets

pockets

But to be honest, my crochet bag was a bit of a dry run in order to perfect the detail and design. It had been inspired by my lovely friend V. V creates wonderful jewellery, amazing food stuff and dips her toe very successfully into sewing, knitting and all things crafty.  When V and I did the last stall together at Harringay Market, we got 5 mins to sit and make. At the time V’s was knitting an absolutely lovely grey silky knit for a friend’s baby which was being transported in her large basket along with a bunch of other stuff. I knwo she takes great care with delicate things but it got me thinking.

basket with new cover

basket with new cover

So with her birthday in January (like my very own) and knowing that she would

a) knit something again now the baby is here and the gift completed

inside pockets for needles, patterns and scissors

inside pockets for needles, patterns and scissors

b) loves hand made things

my crochet wool ready for the off

my crochet wool ready for the off

and

c) since I was happy with what was needed for her knitting bag now I had tried it out for my own crocheting.

loaded

loaded

I made a knitting bag for the lovely wooly wonders that she quietly produces.

The principle is the same for each. Pockets on the inside sized specifically for scissors, pattern and needles. Pockets on the outside for spare wool, clips and anything else that might be needed and handles.

pockets

pockets

What I realised from my first attempt that I will use for my crochet is that a silky fabric lining would make it so much easier to get things in and out of the bag. V has a very pretty matching silky lining and pockets that I think makes it look quite sweet.

It has been received well and I very much look forward to seeing the next gorgeous make that V will go onto.

12 thoughts on “a knitting (or crochet) bag

      • I had a section of the edge of it that has it’s title and searched it on the internet but it must be discontinued. It’s a bit of vintage from some curtains so I suppose I couldn’t expect to see it again.

        There must be a web site out there somewhere to help us poor fabric obsessed makers that can source and sell these lovely patterns to us!!!
        Cx

  1. Hi there! Would you mind if I share your
    blog with my facebook group? There’s a lot of folks that I think would really enjoy your content. Please let me know. Thank you

Leave a Reply

