workroom

my making corner

my making corner

I have been slowly but surely adding bits to my workroom (and to my piles of lovely fabrics too but I’m keeping quiet about that for now!!).

My husband would call it cluttering……

pin board and shelves

pin board and shelves

They have to be neat (ish!!) though, I can’t work in chaos. That in itself is a huge challenge in a limited space and I still have to do a fair amount of tidying up after my makes to avoid small messy piles accumulating in a small space.

paint brushes, needles, buttons, lace bobbins.....

paint brushes, needles, buttons, lace bobbins…..

I’m very short on storage space but I seem to have found a home for nearly everything.  If I can get some of my makes finished and get onto the new ones I want to try out (like making some new clothes for myself!!!), the fabric stash will slowly reduce and the piles of applique scraps will start to diminish.

my vintage needle cases and thimbles

my vintage needle cases and thimbles

I’ve made some bunting for my room too as it seems only right to have some myself.  I have put some of my favourite or most recently acquired books out and my Bonne Maman jam jars are ready and waiting for me to find the time to fill them with a load of buttons I bought at a thrift shop recently.

burger bear is lurking in there

burger bear is lurking in there

I have no doubt it will change around again if I find certain things are not quite where I need or want them but just now, it works pretty well for me and I am constantly grateful to finally have this.

tidy and ready for some making

tidy and ready for some making

It is a real space of escape for me at weekends when all the evidence of normal work has gone.

 

It is peaceful and quiet and I can lose myself in what I love doing. It is a few rare moments when the stresses of my normal working day can’t creep in because my head is full of lovely making thoughts.

burger bear guarding my fabric pile that will become little pinafores

burger bear guarding my fabric pile that will become little pinafores

A real sanctuary for which I am enormously grateful and I can’t believe it took me so long to get!!

We still haven’t worked out how to get over losing our spare bedroom but I’m sure if anyone wants to come and stay badly enough, they’ll put up with a mattress on the floor!

farbrics ready, scissors ready...

farbrics ready, scissors ready…

10 thoughts on “workroom

  1. It looks lovely! And will get so much more use and be much more loved than a spare room. You’re right, I think any friend would be happy on a matress (and any crafty friend would be thrilled to stay there 😉 )
    The bags under the desk made me smile. I do the same thing, and am forever bashing my knees when I need to use my computer. I think we need to shuffle our rooms around a bit too…

    • I try to be tidy (& ruthless with what I keep) but it is so hard, isn’t it?

      I hate throwing even the tiniest scrap of nice fabric away!!!

      I have plans for the bags under the desk though 😉

  2. Love seeing other people’s workrooms. Much neater and more organised than mine! Looks like it would be cosy in winter too right next to the radiator.

    • Thank you.

      It’s in the basement so keeps a constant temperature.

      I think my toes might seek out the radiator though!! LOL

      There are French doors out into the garden though so it is lovely and atmospheric.

Leave a Reply

