Vintage Apron

ready to wear

ready to wear

All the aprons I make are generally long bib aprons with decorative appliqué.

wide pocket

wide pocket

I have just finished a short waist apron in vintage floral fabric that is decorated with yellow velvet ribbon and I rather like it. It is something I will make again.

pocket trim

pocket trim

It is roughly based on a very old apron that my gran used to use (I think it was hers – it has certainly been around a while) which is very thread bear and much the worse for it’s years of service.

waist band trim

waist band trim

The pocket detail is full width and divided to hold cloths, tools and anything else you need when wearing it, be that in the kitchen or elsewhere.

tie at waist

tie at waist

I love this fabric. I picked it up a few months ago and I have already used for a different apron but I have been waiting for an excuse to use this lovely yellow velvet ribbon for an age and this was it.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Vintage Apron

  1. That is incredibly cute! i love the fact that on the one hand it looks like an apron to be used, but on the other, the fact that it’s velvet ribbon makes it feel extra special. It’s lovely.
    Not sure if it’s relevant, but Tiger the odd shop that seems to sell a weird collection of things has had neon velvet ribbon for the last few months. Very cheap too… but neon.

Leave a Reply

